Rachel Wolfe…..practical advice about ‘working mobile’ from a successful working lady.

by wanderingsalsero

One of my favorite things about internet marketing is the ability to work from anywhere.

It’s so fun to travel and see all kinds of different things

Right now I’m sitting at a Starbucks in Brooklyn, NY. On my right, there’s a man trying to seduce a girl from Amsterdam. On the left, there’s a guy dancing by himself to the Beatles. It’s totally random and I love it. :)

I really like working from cafes. It’s so much funner than sitting at home and working by yourself. I feel that gets lonely, tiring, and stale after a while.

And now that I’ve been traveling/working for so long, I’ve honed in some “best practices” to make traveling and working as seamless as possible.

Here are some of my favorite tips:

1. Bring a surge protector to cafes. Usually cafes have limited outlet space. If you bring your own surge protector you can share the outlets with other people.

This is especially helpful if:

a) All the outlets are taken when you get to a cafe

b) You’ve been using an outlet for a while and feel bad (or maybe that’s just me :) ).

(Special thinks to the beautiful Jaime Mintun for this tip!)

2. If you’re in an area you’ve never been in before and don’t have your own wifi, it’s very helpful to have phone apps that tell you which places nearby do. I have both the Starbucks app and this app.

Between both of them, you can often find places that have internet connection. However, I do recommend having your own, which brings me to…

3.  Have your own wifi. I recommend the Clear online plan. It’s $50/month and you has excellent coverage.

I love this because:

a) A lot of times, seats at cafes with wifi fill up. Yesterday I went to 3 different cafes that had absolutely no seats available. I ended up at one cafe that did NOT offer wifi. The smart people who had their own wifi were working there. :)

b) Having your own internet connection is super helpful at hotels when you’d otherwise have to pay $15/day for internet.

c) You can use this while traveling. When I was driving cross country and and had time sensitive deadlines, there were times I’d pull over in the middle of nowhere, get some work done from my car, and then start driving again.

I like this particular service because despite the horrific sales page, it works really well (better than the Verizon I used to have), is very cheap, and you don’t have to pay for an initial USB if you get a refurbished one (which works fine).

4. Go healthy. Working from cafes doesn’t mean you have to sacrifice your health. I often order a healthy drink (decaf tea or water) and then bring snacks with me. Sometimes I have a healthy bar in my purse or something in a ziplock bag, like carrots or sliced cucumber.

5. Plan out your day while waiting for your order. I like to make a list of everything I want to do the night before I work, and then while I wait for my order, I create a timed to-do list.

For example, today’s is:

7:50 – 8:10 am: Download plugin

8:10- 8:30 am Convert links

8:30- 9:30 am Fix all Happy Copywriting thank you pages

9:30- 10:30 am Write blog post

…and so forth.

Here’s today’s full list:

6. Use Dropbox. This is AWESOME for syncing all your files together. I have all my files on Dropbox so I can access them from my computer, my iPad, and my iPhone.

Sometimes if I find myself waiting for something (like if I’m out to lunch and waiting for my food), I start journaling or mindmapping. (I’m kind of restless sometimes.)

It’s so nice to be able to pull out my iPhone, grab my 60 day plan from Dropbox, and then create ideas around different things on my plan.

7. Outsource as much as possible. Working from cafes is really great when you want to be creative. If you outsource as many un-fun tasks as possible, you can focus on only the things that light you up.

So there you have it… 7 of my favorite work-from-cafe tips! I hope this helps, because working from cafes definitely makes life a LOT more fun. :)

And what are YOUR thoughts? Do you have another idea I haven’t mentioned? Please feel free to share below!

Link to this post

Bookmark this page using the following link: http://rachelrofe.com/7-tips-to-make-working-from-cafes-a-lot-of-fun

Do you have a website? You can place a link to this page by copying and pasting the code below.
<a href=”http://rachelrofe.com/7-tips-to-make-working-from-cafes-a-lot-of-fun”>7 Tips To Make Working From Cafes A Lot Of Fun!<a>

I think working from cafes would be exciting. As soon as I get a new laptop I’ll be doing more of it myself. Rachel is certainly qualified to speak regarding this subject because she used to actually own her own outsourcing company. Point is….she knows a lot of getting leverage.

